Introducing Annalie

Hello Knitters,

Meet Annalie, a fun pattern for a rectangular shawl or classic scarf. Annalie combines the vintage sweetness of eyelet lace ribs with clean, modern style.

4

Annalie is a PDF knitting pattern download  containing full written instructions, knitting charts, and schematic available for $6.00 USD.

2.jpeg

See the Ravelry pattern listing or use the buy now button to buy the pattern. You do not need to be a Ravelry member to use the buy now button.

Here’s a little story about Annalie’s origin.

In another lifetime before I was a knitter, I was a corporate executive assistant and went on a week-long business trip to Luxembourg. If you’ve never been to Luxembourg, it is a country that seems to be right out of a fairy tale complete with castles, cobblestones, and a Duke who lives in center city!

While there I drank the best coffee of my life, tasted my first amuse-bouche on a wide-bowled china spoon (fancy), my first sea scallop (mmmmm), and my first cuttlefish (bleeeeeehhhh) at formal business dinners. I pretended to be a cosmopolitan bomb-diggity twenty-two year old abroad. I also became desperately homesick for my then-boyfriend, now-husband back home in Illinois and felt totally out of place among the throng of cool young professionals working in global finance.

It was early November, and all the Luxembourgers (that’s what they are really called) seemed to be wearing scarves mysteriously wrapped around their necks with the ends tucked in. Over their coats, over their clothes, there was always a scarf. They seemed so stylish in that layered, unmistakably European way of wearing an understated outfit finished off with a beautiful scarf. The choice of scarf added personality and varied from sheer floral silk to cozy wool knit to woven plaid cashmere and everything in between. My scarves had only ever been an afterthought, a long, skinny thing tossed around the neck of my winter coat with the ends flapping in the wind like Snoopy.

snoopy-scarfThese scarves were nothing like that.

Back home, my boyfriend asked me to marry him, I decided to leave corporate life behind, and I began to experiment with wearing wider scarves and wraps coiled around my neck in different ways. If you’ve never seen this amazing video about wrapping scarves, check it out, I guarantee you’ll be digging out your scarves to play. I learned that wearing a scarf is practical, it’s so warm and adds polish to a basic outfit. It’s seasonless, you simply change the fabric or texture as the seasons change. It’s expressive of your taste, your mood since you can wear any sort of fabric, color, texture, or print, and it’s just a lot of fun!

That was about 10 years ago, and my love of the husband, scarves, wraps, and shawls has only grown with time. I hope you enjoy making Annalie because you’re sure to look beautiful wearing her.

Happy scarfing!

Leave a Reply

