creativity · design process · dressmaking · pattern · sewing

Sewing Simple Clothes

Hi Fiber Friends,

I’ve been in the throes of a new passion! Drafting and sewing simple sewing patterns from old tank tops and t-shirts in my closet to create my own unique tunic blouses. 


The process for each piece is to cut out the front and back, join shoulder seams, join side seams, and add bias binding to the neckline and armholes. It’s a new skill set for me and I’m loving it.


My desire to wear silky, flowy fabrics has motivated me to complete these projects and has also outstripped my ability to work with these materials, but I’m embracing the learning and the little imperfections that come with handmade items.


This is a tiny paper mock-up of an idea for a tee sewn using a striped fabric. Inspiration is everywhere, even on a mundane grocery list notepad.

Of course, my little mite is getting some new clothes as well: skirts, tunics, dresses, and shorts in cheerful quilting cottons. So fun and sweet!



Now all we need is for the weather to brighten up and warm up again so we can wear our lovelies. I hope you’re enjoying your own makes!

Yours in stitches,

Sara

Leave a Reply

